20.07.03 Lee Seung Gi News Tidbits

*updated on 7/8*

Variety is the spice of life for Lee Seung-gi by Korea Joongang Daily

Lee Seung-gi shares intimate encounters with fans in ‘Twogether’ by KoreaTimes

Actor Lee Seung-Gi Prizes Reality Shows For The Chance To Be Himself by Forbes

Lee Seung Gi Talks About Working With Jasper Liu On Their Travel Show “Twogether” by soompi

Lee Seung Gi says he wants to work with Jasper Liu in ‘Together’ season 2 as soon as possible by allkpop

Jasper Liu Talks About Working With Lee Seung Gi On Variety Show by soompi

Excerpts from various interviews:

“Singer activity? I’ve been preparing but it’s on hold… I’ll let you know when (release date) is confirmed”

“Very happy that Twogether got on Netflix Top 10 so quickly after release… Looking forward to Season 2 with LYH”

“I could have done a lot more cheating, but I was afraid that LYH would be too shocked, so I made some adjustment” 😂😂

“LYH a gem in variety world… First impression? Romantic guy → mischievous in reality”

“Stamina & sociability are my strong suits… I was surprised that they worked overseas as well”

“I would give Twogether 120 points (out of 100)”

“LYH’s ‘SeungGi-sshi’ is like HoDong hyung’s ‘Seunggi-ya’… I don’t know why people call me so eagerly.” ㅋㅋ

“I don’t know why Netflix likes me, but I’m thankful. I suspect that the reason they want me is they believe I can survive even when thrown into a harsh environment.”

“I guess my weather fortune is still alive. I was also amazed.”

“The reason I want to get married before 40? I don’t think I would want to make changes in life once I reach 40, that’s why I’m using that age as a threshold.”

“I learned Kang Ho Dong’s survival skills & Yoo Jae Suk’s leadership… I want to be an MC who’s a steppingstone. I want people to say ‘I did better & stood out more when I was with Lee Seung Gi.'”

“As Twogether’s TOP rankings change, LYH and I share them with each other every day. And we tell each other ‘Stay healthy’ ‘Don’t get sick before Season 2’ etc.”

“I’m still practicing singing and receiving vocal lessons. I hope the (covid-19) situation gets better soon so that I can get a chance to release some music or plan a concert or something.”

“If we were to add a 3rd member, it’d be a different challenge. I’d like to work with a star from a 3rd country; Asian, since we’d get thru language & culture differences more quickly. It’d be fun to work with another star.”

On Seoul Bumpkin:

“Honestly, I’m looking forward to it. It seems to be a program that oddly meets at the halfway point between my roles of 1N2D’s maknae & Jipsabu’s leader. CTH hyung’s reactions are really good & he has a human touch.”
“It has an unpretentious charm, & I think it’ll become a variety that’s similar in color to Twogether but with the color of 1N2D added to it. Personally, I can’t wait to watch it.”

On appearing in many experimental variety shows:

“Through new challenges, I feel that I’m getting stronger inside.”
“Contents made by Korean producers & entertainers are world-class. High-quality dramas are said to be ‘like an American drama’ but I believe that term will soon be replaced by ‘like a k-drama’ or ‘like a k-variety’.”

On expanding stage through Netflix:

“I was active only in Korea before, but I thought I could push the boundaries through Netflix whose stage is the whole world. I want to immerse myself in new challenges; even if I suffer a defeat, I think I can grow through assessment.”
“With 17 years of experience, I’ve learned a lot & had a lot of success, but I try not to get used to it. I’m determined not to be stuck in a rut, so I’ll keep running in search of a new environment.”

“I’m proud to make the charm of hardcore K variety known worldwide”

“If I were to do something I’m not good at or something I don’t want to do, my image might be squandered away, but I don’t think that would happen if I did what I’m good at & what I want to do. If anything, while doing variety shows, I’ve learned how to look at the big picture. Singers stand alone on the stage, actors prepare mostly for their own roles, but in variety, there’s no script. What do the producers want? What are the members good at? You have to keep observing & making adjustments. Since that’s what drives me forward, I think I’ll keep doing (variety shows).”

“Twogether was released thru Netflix, but it’s a Korean production. Production crew & I are all Koreans, only LYH speaks a different language. I was worried that he might feel left out or overwhelmed, so I prepared by studying Mandarin.”

Twogether PDs:

“I think SeungGi has enough potential & is fully capable of becoming One-Top in VS industry. He’s one of the few people who’ve been able to learn from both Yoo Jae Suk & Kang Ho Dong, & as an actor, he has an advantage in terms of expressiveness. Because he has a lot of experience, he’s very skilled for his age, & he’s excellent at reading situations.

I worked with SeungGi on Busted! & even though it wasn’t an easy situation for him to join halfway through the show, he adapted very quickly…”

“I heard that SeungGi is getting a lot more fans in the Greater China region. People seem to like the way he took care of LYH, and they think he looks cute speaking Chinese.”

Q: If you were to describe Lee Seung Gi briefly?

LYH: Intellect, virtue, physique… he has them all. He’s smart, in great physical shape, & has a competitive spirit.

English translation: tryp96

This entry was posted in Press, Twogether and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 20.07.03 Lee Seung Gi News Tidbits

  1. Genevieve says:

    Hi. I recently downloaded the infamous chill sisters using your links for the Mega app. I appreciate your time and effort on this project. Please check episode 13 as I’m getting a repeat of episode 1 when I play it. I’ve deleted and reloaded it but this issue persists. Please let me know what I’m doing wrong if I’m the only one with this problem.
    Thank you.

Leave a comment